How do I collaborate with other instructors in Interactivity?

Jason Liu -

In this article:

By utilizing collaboration options in Interactivity, instructors can save time on content creation within Interactivity by reusing the materials that other instructors created. Furthermore, instructors can always copy, adjust, and modify the shared content to best suit their needs.

Besides shortening the content creation time, the ability to share and add collaborators acts as a great tool for quality assurance. The sharing ability provides a convenient method for instructors to share their content for review and work together to revise the content if needed. These features can also help the administrators and the instructional design team to work directly with the instructors and support them during the creation process.

 

Bulbs

Bulb's Ownership

Instructors can find their ownership of the bulb by checking the icon in front of the bulb’s title.

Screenshot 2024-01-09 142156.png

There are three different types of ownership:

  1. OwnerScreenshot 2024-01-09 155817.png: You are the author of the bulb.
  2. Co-editorScreenshot 2024-01-09 155829.png: A pen icon in front of the title. The co-editor can edit, assign, and monitor the bulb but can not add other instructors as collaborators to the bulb.
  3. FacilitatorScreenshot 2024-01-09 155824.png: An eye icon in front of the title. The Facilitator can assign and monitor the bulb but can not edit or add collaborators to the bulb.
Action Owner Co-editor Facilitator
Edit the Bulb Yes Yes No
Change settings and tags Yes Yes No
View the Bulb Yes Yes Yes
Assign the Bulb Yes Yes Yes
Share access to the Bulb Yes No No
Monitor the Bulb Yes Yes Yes
Download analytics for the Bulb Yes No No
Unlink a Bulb from a class they can access Yes Yes Yes
Remove themselves from the Bulb Transfer the ownership to other instructors Yes Yes
Delete the Bulb Yes No No

 

Add Collaborators to the Bulb

Click the thumbnail or the actions button of the Bulb and select Collaborate.

Screenshot 2024-01-09 141954.png

 

Enter the email address of the collaborators, select the access type to be “Can Edit (Co-editor)” or “Can View/Assign (Facilitator)”, and click Add Access to share the Bulb with these instructors.

Screenshot 2024-01-09 142035.png

 

Edit Permissions or Transfer Bulb’s Ownership

Click the thumbnail or the actions button of the Bulb and select Collaborate.

Screenshot 2024-01-09 141954.png

 

The access type for each collaborator will be listed behind their name.

Screenshot 2024-01-09 154940.png

Expand the drop-down menu to change the access type, remove the access, or make a collaborator a new owner for this bulb. If the ownership is transferred to another instructor, the original owner will become the co-editor of the bulb.

Screenshot 2024-01-09 142102.png

 

Add Collaborators to Multiple Bulbs at Once

Select the bulbs by clicking the checkbox in front of them. Please note that only the bulbs that belong to you can be selected.

Screenshot 2024-01-09 151015.png

 

Select Manage Permissions.

Screenshot 2024-01-09 151015 - Copy.png

 

Enter the email address of the collaborators, select the access type to be “Can Edit (Co-editor)” or “Can View/Assign (Facilitator)”, and click Add Access to share the Bulbs with these instructors.

Screenshot 2024-01-09 151029.png

 

Playlists

Playlist’s Ownership

Instructors can find ownership of the playlist by checking the icon in front of the playlist's title. There are three different types of ownership:

Screenshot 2024-01-29 150253.png

  1. OwnerScreenshot 2024-01-09 155817.png: You are the author of the playlist.
  2. Co-editorScreenshot 2024-01-09 155829.png: A pen icon in front of the title. The co-editor can edit, assign, and monitor the playlist but can not add other instructors as collaborators to the playlist.
  3. FacilitatorScreenshot 2024-01-09 155824.png: An eye icon in front of the title. The Facilitator can assign and monitor the playlist but can not edit or add collaborators to the playlist.
Action Owner Co-editor Facilitator
Edit the playlist Yes Yes No
Change settings and tags Yes Yes No
View the playlist Yes Yes Yes
Assign the playlist Yes Yes Yes
Share access to the playlist Yes No No
Monitor the playlist Yes Yes Yes
Unlink a playlist from a class they can access Yes Yes Yes
Remove themselves from the playlist Transfer the ownership to other instructors Yes Yes
Delete the playlist Yes No No

 

Add Collaborators to the playlist

Click the playlist icon or the actions button of the playlist and select Collaborate.

Screenshot 2024-01-29 150307.png

Enter the email address of the collaborators, select the access type to be “Can Edit (Co-editor)” or “Can View/Assign (Facilitator)”, and click Add Access to share the playlist with these instructors. When users are added as collaborators to the playlist, they will also become collaborators of the Bulbs in the playlist.

Screenshot 2024-01-29 150345.png

 

Edit Permissions or Transfer Playlist’s Ownership

Click the playlist icon or the actions button of the playlist and select Collaborate.

Screenshot 2024-01-29 150307.png

The access type for each collaborator will be listed behind their name.

Screenshot 2024-01-29 150430.png

Expand the drop-down menu to change the access type, remove the access, or make a collaborator a new owner for this playlist. If the ownership is transferred to another instructor, the original owner will become the co-editor of the playlist. 

Screenshot 2024-01-29 150448.png

 

Add Collaborators to Multiple Playlists at Once

Select the playlists by clicking the checkbox in front of them and select Manage Permissions. Please note that only the playlists that belong to you can be selected.

Screenshot 2024-01-29 150501.png

Enter the email address of the collaborators, select the access type to be “Can Edit (Co-editor)” or “Can View/Assign (Facilitator)”, and click Add Access to share the playlists with these instructors.

Screenshot 2024-01-29 151228.png

 

Classes

Class’s Ownership

Instructors can find ownership of the class by checking the icon in front of the playlist's title. There are three different types of ownership:

Screenshot 2024-02-06 100812 - Copy.png

  1. OwnerScreenshot 2024-01-09 155817.png: You are the owner of the class.
  2. InstructorScreenshot 2024-01-09 155829.png: A pen icon in front of the title. The Instructor can edit, assign, and monitor the content in the class but can not add other instructors as collaborators to the class.
  3. Teaching AssistantScreenshot 2024-01-09 155824.png: An eye icon in front of the title. The Facilitator can assign and monitor the content in the class but can not edit content or add collaborators to the class.
Action Owner Instructor Teaching Assistant
Manage permission Yes No No
Archive classes Yes No No
Change grades Yes Yes Yes
Edit class name Yes Yes No
Assign/edit Bulbs they own Yes Yes Yes
Assign/edit Bulbs they don't own Yes Yes No
Monitor Data Yes Yes Yes

 

Add Collaborators to the class

From the Classes page, click the title of the desired class.

Screenshot 2024-02-06 100812.png

Select Collaboration on the top left.

Screenshot 2024-02-06 095841.png

Enter the email address of the collaborator, choose the access type for the collaborator, and select Share access.

Screenshot 2024-02-06 095905.png

(Optional) The class owner can also toggle on and off whether to adjust the Bulb/playlist permissions to align with the Class permission. For example, if the newly added instructor has co-editor access to a Bulb in the class and is added to the class as the teaching assistant. In that case, when this option is on, the newly added instructor's permission to the Bulb will change from the co-editor to the facilitator.

Screenshot 2024-02-06 095905222.png

Edit Permissions or transfer class’s ownership

From the Classes page, click the title of the desired class.

Screenshot 2024-02-06 100812.png

Select Collaboration on the top left.

Screenshot 2024-02-06 095841.png

The access type for each collaborator will be listed behind their email. 

Screenshot 2024-02-13 124540.png

Expand the drop-down menu to change the access type, remove the access, or make a collaborator a new owner for this class. If the ownership is transferred to another instructor, the original owner will become the instructor of the class.

Screenshot 2024-02-06 100039.png

Have more questions? Submit a request